First Prenatal Appointment

>


Well we had out first prenatal appointment and ultrasound today! There wasn’t much to see on the ultrasound, but the heartbeat was amazing.

I had trouble sleeping last night. I’ve been dealing with restless legs and I feel like I need to be jiggling my toes in order to fall asleep. I slept in the extra room so that I wouldn’t annoy Mr. P all night.

I woke up this morning and went to the Doctor’s office. It’s located about a mile south of the hospital where I’ll be delivering. It takes about 25 minutes to get there and that was at 9 am. So hopefully I don’t have to go across town in rush hour!! It’s a nice easy drive though.

The doctor’s office is nice! It’s comfortable and there were other younger mothers in the office. I felt really comfortable with the receptionist, the nurse AND the doctor. I didn’t think I’d like having a male doctor, but he’s pretty cool! He answered a lot of my questions. He is also the only doctor in the practice, so I won’t be shuffled around from doctor to doctor. He says he delivers every baby, unless he is out of town, which is great. He’s planning to take a vacation in July, but should be around in August!!

He did a regular pap smear and a breast exam. He wasn’t worried about the lumps I had. He said they were just glandular tissue. He also did an ultrasound!! I was able to hear the baby’s heartbeat!! It was amazing to hear it and I wish that Mr. P could have been there with me! It was absolutely amazing to think about the fact that the little tiny baby inside me has a beating heart.

By the size of the baby, he estimated me to be at 6 weeks 2 days. Our due date it August 30, 2010. That is GREAT because that increases the chance that Mr. P will be able to be home for the birth! He also measured my cervix, and said it was long, which decreases the risk of preterm delivery (also another BIG plus).

I felt really comfortable with him and I was really glad that I got to go in. I feel a lot less stressed and worried now, knowing that everything is as it should be. Once you hear a heartbeat the miscarriage chances drop, and that’s FANTASTIC!!!

Sorry the picture quality is so poor, I was having trouble getting a good picture on my camera.
Leave a Reply

