16 Weeks

>

Well look at that, there is almost a little belly there! And the picture was only taken at 10am! That’s pretty impressive. Guess I’m actually starting to show!
Well Baby is supposed to be doubling in size in the next few weeks. Right now it’s the size of a turnip, about 4 1/2 inches – 5 inches. Babies start growing at different rates about now. It’s still hard to picture a little turnip down there. Baby’s legs are more developed and the head is starting to sit more erect than it was. The pattern of the scalp has started (although we’re pretty sure we’re going to have a bald little one). The little one’s heart is pumping 25 quarts a day too!! Oh and fingerprints are intact, making our little one truly an individual!
We had a week of firsts this past week. I woke up one morning and had the tightening in my lower abdomen (which I described in an earlier post). Well yesterday, Tuesday, I felt the baby move for the first time, and I mean REALLY move. I was actually sitting in an interview and the ENTIRE time I was feeling little bubbles popping in my lower abdomen. It continued for another 2 hours after I got home! It was almost like a muscle twitching, but I’m positive it wasn’t. I could feel the outline of my uterus and I was able to actually feel the Baby kicking where my hands were. I’m pretty sure Dectron is head down with the feet a little bit right of my belly button. At one point I think I was feeling little punches where the arms and head should be. It truly was an amazing feeling and I was so surprised that it was so strong and lasted for so long! I think the little one likes apples! I can’t wait to feel it again and for it to become more regular.
We also have a mattress now! I haven’t put it in the crib yet, but I did get one! I need to get a mattress cover and a few other things before I put it in. I also made sure to clean it really well. I want to make sure there is absolutely nothing on it that could hurt the little one.
As for me – I’m feeling pretty well! I still have some issues with indigestion, but my appetite has finally returned. Yesterday I had 3 bowls of pasta with spaghetti sauce (I crave spaghetti) and then a whole foot-long sub for dinner. I still get little bits of nausea, but it’s usually in the morning (around now, 10 – 12) and it’s over after that. I do still get a little bit tired in the early afternoon too and I usually take a little nap or rest for a little bit. The shortness of breath hasn’t been that bad, although I haven’t been doing much either.
We also had blood drawn over the week for our Quad Screening and Cystic Fibrosis testing. I’m not sure when the results will be in, but I am anxious to get them. I realized yesterday that it’s only 3 weeks from our BIG ultrasound when we find out if we’re having a little boy or girl!! I know that a lot of people are rooting for a girl. At first we were too. Now I really don’t care!! I do find myself being drawn to little boy’s clothing and accessories though. I still think it’s a boy and I will be REALLY surprised if it’s a little girl. I can just picture having a little boy and dressing him in jeans and a polo just like his Daddy. That’s going to be his style. 🙂
So overall, it’s been a great week! I’m looking forward to getting to the 20th week and being half way, but I’m trying to enjoy all of the new sensations that I’m feeling now. It really is turning into a journey!
Leave a Reply

