18 Weeks

>



18 weeks today!! We are getting closer to being halfway done and I’m definitely looking bigger than I was. I’m pretty sure that Baby had a huge growth spurt and is about 6 inches long now, which is bigger than average – BIG surprise, ha, not.


So the Baby is supposed to reach 6 inches this week and be about the size of a bell pepper(but I think we’re already there). Baby P is also flexing and moving around much more (even though I still can’t feel too much). The myelin is forming around the nerves and will continue to do so until the Baby is about a year old. The blood vessels are visible through the baby’s thin skin and the ears have reached their final position, even though they’re still sticking out a little bit. If it’s a girl – the uterus and fallopian tubes are in place, and if it’s a boy – it’s definitely obvious by this point! Just one more week of the unknown! 8 days until our gender ultrasound!


I’ve been doing well this past week. At the beginning of the week I was craving cheese and dairy products and towards the end of the week they’ve started to make me sick. Maybe a little bit of lactose intolerance showing up? I don’t know, but I really want to have cereal and every time I do I end up nauseated on the couch 2 hours later. Ugh. I’ve been sleeping a lot better too, despite getting up in the middle of the night. I’ve felt Baby move a few times. Yesterday evening I felt more than normal, which was a great surprise! During the beginning of the week I was having a lot of braxton hicks contractions and they’ve slowed towards the end of the week (which makes me a lot happier)!!! They don’t hurt, they’re just awkward feeling!


Like I said earlier I think the baby is a little bit larger than average currently. The top of your uterus (the fundal height) isn’t supposed to reach your belly button until you’re 20 weeks. About 17 1/2 weeks I noticed that it was right at my belly button and last night when I felt some tightening it was 1 – 2 centimeters above my belly button. I think it may be partly due to how the baby is laying. Baby is almost completely on the right side of my abdomen and I think it’s head up, feet down (which explains why I don’t feel too much movement). It may also be that I have such a short midsection. That’ll be fun when I’m 9 months right? Oh boy.


Not too much else is going on around here though. I’ve just been working on care packages to send to Mr P. He received his first round of packages and is much happier now that he has some comforts from home! I’ll post some pictures of the decorated ones I’ve sent (since he’s already seen them). He is doing well, too – just so everyone knows! We get to talk on the phone quite a bit (which is really lucky, I know!) and it makes it a lot easier and helps the days pass by. Can you believe it’s been almost a month since he left?? I can’t, but if the rest of the months go by this quickly we’ll be done and have a baby before we know it!


Oh and the most exciting thing going on – the countdown to our BIG ultrasound!! I’m so excited to find out if we’re having a boy or girl and to see the little one again and make sure everything is going as it should be! My sister may be coming down to come to the ultrasound and Mr P’s mom will be there too! Expect lots of video!! Only 8 days to go!! YAY!


I’m going to post a poll here so that everyone can vote on whether or not they think it’s a boy or girl! Make sure to vote!! I’m curious what everyone else thinks! Feel free to email me if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

