Master Bedroom Makeover

>So since this IS a blog about our family and not just the Baby – here is an entry all about grown-up stuff!

Well it’s typically a newlywed experience to get to set up the master bedroom together and start off with new things. Mr P and I haven’t had the chance and our master bedroom was boringly dull. It was just a combination of things we had each acquired over the years.

Today I felt that it was time for a little sprucing up. I wanted our room to look more like a real master bedroom instead of a college dorm room. So I took a trip to Gordmans and to Kohls and found some essentials.

The other issue with our bedroom is this gigantic wall. We have vaulted ceilings and the wall with the door on it is about 12 feet high and 12 feet wide and I’ve been looking at it for months trying to figure out what to do with it. It really was too big for a picture (unless it was a gigantic picture) and I just was at a loss as to what would look good.

So I found myself in the decor section of Gordmans (which is amazing if you’ve never been there) and I came across some good size mirrors. The prices were FANTASTIC (as they always are) and I found a medium sized mirror with a black frame (which matches the headboard and footboard). I figured it would need something a little bit more and I turned around and found these awesome vertical shelves that were the same height as the mirror!! It was meant to be. I continued to look around the decor section and picked up a picture frame that says “i do” on it and also a little plaque-thing that says “Love beyond words”. Oh – and I did get one thing for the nursery, but I’ll post about that some other time!

On the way home I decided to stop by the new Kohl’s that opened a few weeks ago. Turns out they are having a HUGE sale tonight and tomorrow morning will all kinds of awesome deals. I ended up in the decor section (yet again) and picked up some wall sconces that I thought would look good just outside the vertical shelves. I noticed that there were some really nice deals on bedding sets. I hurried home to send Mr P an email about the bedding sale.

I sent him 4 different sets that I’d seen on sale and that I thought he might like. We have gold curtains in our room and I thought either green or dark red would look good with the gold, so I focused on those colors. We ended up picking one and although it isn’t the one we’d had our eyes on it’s still pretty nice. And if Mr comes home and doesn’t like it – we can always put it in the guest room! That room needs a makeover too! I went back to Kohl’s and picked up the 12 piece set for $150! What a deal!!!!

Upon returning home I hauled everything upstairs and got to work. It took me quite a while to get all of the measurements ready (it would have been much easier with 2 people, but I managed). And I started poking holes (SCARY!). And I have to say – it turned out FANTASTIC! The combination of the mirror and the two vertical shelves is the perfect width for the dresser!

So here are the pictures of our NEW wall decor.

And here is a close up of the shelving.

And last but not least – the before and after for our new bedding set!!

So I’m going to bed tonight in a nice new room and I couldn’t be more excited!! I’m hoping that when Mr P gets home he will like it all as much as I do! It’s a good change and I’m very pleased.

Leave a Reply

