24 Weeks

>

Well if I’m not mistaken, 24 weeks marks the vitality point! The odds of survival outside the womb this week are at 70%! That’s a pretty good chance.

I am definitely looking and feeling pregnant now. My uterus is the size of a soccer ball now. My belly button is getting ready to pop out and when I look down I definitely can’t see my toes anymore. Tying shoes is getting difficult too. Thank goodness it’s about to be summertime and I can just wear flip flops all summer! My dreams have been very odd lately. Actually, I’ve been up since 2:30 this morning. I got up to go to the bathroom and by the time I got back to bed I wasn’t tired anymore. Oh and I was STARVING. Breakfast was early this morning! I’m feeling great otherwise. My digestive system isn’t tolerating a huge amount of dairy, but a little bit is ok. My brain is gone for good. I have to write everything down at work or it gets forgotten (even something as simple as an OJ). It’s a little frustrating, but I’m dealing.

I am starting to feel like Jacob has a little personality. Perhaps it’s just that we are starting to bond, but it seems like he does. I love that he moves and kicks after I eat, it’s like a conversation between us about food. He generally doesn’t like things resting on my tummy either. He will kick at the computer or at the headphones when I play Mozart for him. He is constantly making me laugh.

He is moving more and more and honestly it is MORE than welcome. One of my fellow bloggers lost her little girl at 25 weeks (and my heart aches for her and her husband) and it has made me realize that it can happen anytime and that pregnancy really is fragile. I am comforted by Jacob’s little movements even more now. He is such a little blessing and I can’t even imagine what I’d do without him squirming about inside me.

He has gained 4 ounces since last week and although he is lean, he will begin to put on some weight now. His brain is growing quickly and his taste buds are continuing to develop. His lungs are developing branches of the respiratory tree as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help his air sacs inflate once he is born. Jacob’s skin is still thin and translucent, but that will change in the upcoming weeks. Although his lungs aren’t fully matured, he could breathe outside the womb with intensive care. That doesn’t mean that I want to deliver early by ANY means!! Little boy needs to stay inside until Daddy gets home in August!

I sort of celebrated my first Mother’s Day. If working counts, then I definitely celebrated. My Mom sent me a Bonsai tree (it’s a special kind that isn’t in the pine tree family – since I’m allergic) and it has beautiful vibrant purple flowers on it. I’m working my hardest to keep it alive!! Mr. P also has a gift for both Jacob and I in the mail, but it won’t arrive until tomorrow. I am very curious to see what he sent!!

I spent the last few days working on Baby Shower Invitations!! My Dad’s LOVELY wife and daughter have offered to throw the shower and it will be in early June. Once I finish up the invitations I will take some pictures to share. I’ve really been enjoying working with the stamps and paper again and I can’t wait to work on our pregnancy scrapbook. I’m even taking a free stamping basics class at the local Archiver’s tomorrow evening.

Today I have a movie date with a woman married to a soldier stationed at Ft. Carson. We have been chatting for months now and have finally decided to go see a movie!! I can’t wait!

I’ll post this weeks picture after I get up and shower and get ready!

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

