28 Weeks

>

28 weeks. Wow. Seems like time is just flying by lately doesn’t it?

I’m definitely feeling the third trimester though. I’m tired, constantly. I just slept from 1 am to 10 am and I wanted to stay in bed even longer!! Although it’s not bad – my back is starting to ache after work (maybe that’s because I’m working 6 days a week now though). I haven’t been crampy much lately, which is good. And the Braxton Hicks contractions are coming less frequently, but when they do come they’re a little more intense. Oh – the trips to the bathroom – I should just start sleeping in there!! It feels like I have to go ALL THE TIME! It’s really annoying at work (especially since I have to take an elevator down 9 floors to go)!! I’m about ready to outgrow the only jeans I’ve been able to wear. I’ll definitely have to switch over to my maternity jeans here shortly! At least I’m not going out much except for work! No varicose veins, no swelling and no stretch marks on my belly (still a few on my chest though).

Jacob is moving more than ever these days! I’m sure he’s about to run out of room, but for now he seems to be rolling, punching, kicking and jabbing me with his little elbows and knees. He is up to 2 1/4 pounds now and is over 15 inches long. His eyes have eyelashes and he can blink! As eyesight develops he may be able to see light that filters through. Billions of neurons are developing in his brain and for the next few months he will be adding baby fat! In the next 11-12 weeks he will triple his weight, but only add a few inches to his length!

As for this past week, not too much has happened! I went to dinner at Laura’s house with the boys and Mr. P’s mom, Heather! It was good to get out and to see family! We had a great time playing with the boys and chatting. It has been HOT here. WAY hotter than it usually is in early June in Colorado. We’ve already had 4 or 5 days over 90 degrees. And let me tell you, a town home without air conditioning is NOT a lot of fun when you’re big and preggo. I have the fans going constantly and it’s still 83 degrees INSIDE. Thankfully – today it’s only in the 60s and 70s and there is some nice cloud cover. Hopefully the house can cool down a little bit.

I’m not quite sure if it’s the deployment or the hormones, but I’ve had quite a few days in the past week where I really wanted nothing to do with people. Last Friday all I wanted to do was curl up in bed and sit at home by myself all day. The LAST thing I wanted to do was go to work and pretend to be nice to people. Unfortunately I ended up having to work and it was REALLY busy, so it went quickly, but that still doesn’t mean I want to be nice to perfect strangers. I’m guessing it’s a combination of Mr. P being gone and the third trimester hormones kicking in.

I dreamt about labor last night. It was a really intense dream – almost like I could actually feel the labor pains. I definitely need to finish up my birth plan and continue to talk to the doctor about it at our next appointment on the 15th.

Our baby shower is this weekend!!! Only about half of the people I invited are going to be able to come. All of the girls from work have to work a wedding that we didn’t know about when the shower got scheduled. It’ll still be a great chance to hang out with family and friends though. I’m excited for Lala’s carrot cake!! YUM!

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

