For Two Amazing Men

>

I’ve always been a Daddy’s girl and always will be. I have so many random memories about my Dad growing up. We spent 3 or 4 summers before I was ten hiking fourteeners. We took road-trips and listened to the same tape over and over to the point where we knew all of the words to the songs AND the order they played in. We would have little races every time we got into the car to see who could shut the door or buckle their seatbelt first. Often times the knee-getter or thigh guy would attack in the car, too. I learned how to shift gears with my Dad’s hand over mine when I was 10. We rode horses together and even competed against each other once or twice (and he won). We would have Star Wars marathons on the weekends and watch Episodes 4, 5 and 6 in one sitting. I fell in love with older movies like Brigadoon and Irma La Douce because of my Dad.

A lot of who I am today is because of my Dad and the things we did together when I was a kid. Sure, we had our rough spots, but he always loved me through them and has been there when I need him. I’ve grown a lot closer to him over the past few years. I’ve spent a lot more time with him during this deployment than I have in the past and I am so grateful that I’ve had the opportunity to bond with him again now that I’m a little bit older. So I want to wish a Happy Father’s Day to my Daddy (I’m 22 and he’s still Daddy)!!

And for a long time, my Dad was one of the very few men that I ever trusted. Until I met this guy –

He is one of the greatest men I’ve ever met and I am so blessed to have him to share my life with and to be a Father to our son. Honestly, there are little things that Mr. P does that remind me ever so slightly of my Dad! He’s goofy and a little weird and he twists he words around and makes some of the same facial expressions that my Dad used to make. And it’s because of little things like that, that I know he’s going to be an amazing father to Jacob. He’s already such a great man and is going to be such a good role model to Jacob. This is his first unofficial Father’s Day and he’s celebrating overseas. I hope he knows that Jacob and I love him, miss him and wish he was home to celebrate with us! Happy Father’s Day Mr. P!

Happy Father’s Day to all of the Father’s out there!!

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

