32 Weeks

>

This past week I actually ended up going into the hospital. On Friday night Mr. P and I were chatting over the phone and he was asking me about all of the possible symptoms. We both thought it was a little odd that I hadn’t had any headaches, but kind of just passed it off as normal. I’d been hydrating really well (like 100+ ounces of water a day).

Surprise, surprise – the next morning I woke up because of a horrible headache. It was the throbbing that actually woke me up. As the day progressed it continued to get worse. I couldn’t move my head without pain, my neck hurt, my eyes were sensitive to light and my ears were sensitive to sound. I started to feel sick to my stomach, so I called my OB. He told me to try some caffeine and take an Excedrin Migraine to see if it would help. He advised me to head into the ER if it hadn’t gotten better in the next hour or so.

Throughout all of this I was trying to get ahold of my Mom because I was stressing out about everything – especially working. It was a busy night and we were understaffed and I was really worried that my boss would be upset if I called in. BUT I knew I couldn’t work. I could barely get off of the couch without feeling dizzy and sick to my stomach.

When I finally got ahold of my Mom I was bawling my eyes out and just rambled on about how I didn’t know what to do and I didn’t know how to get to the ER, so she calmed me down and had me call Mr. P’s Mom. My sister in law, Laura, ended up coming to pick me up and take me to the ER. My Mom called my boss and left him a message telling him I would NOT be coming in. How amazing is my family? I am truly thankful for them.

Laura sat with me at the ER for 2 hours before we even got called back. We did get to talk quite a bit and it was really nice to get to know here a little bit better. Once we got called back they hooked me up to an IV and gave me a little bit of anti-nausea medicine and morphine. I felt quite a bit better after that. I picked up a prescription on the way home and spent the night and the next day relaxing.

I also blame this experience for my current obsession with Gatorade. I can’t stop drinking it! It helps to satisfy my need for sweets and it’s hydrating me at the same time! Plus all of those electrolytes are great too!

At my follow up appointment I was officially 20 pounds up. It was the FIRST time I saw 130 on the scale, but that’s perfectly okay with me.

Other than the migraine the week went well. I continued to have braxton hicks contractions and Jacob’s movements continued as normal.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

