39 Weeks

>Well this very well may be the LAST of our weekly updates (and it’s only a day late, aren’t you proud of me?). I may try to get one more in before our induction next week. And thats assuming that we make it that far! I’ll have a picture sometime today, but I just haven’t had the time to take one yet!!

I really have been feeling great through most of the third trimester (heck – through most of the pregnancy). Yesterday the braxton hicks contractions started up in full force. I was up at 3:30 am because I was feeling so uncomfortable. I actually got curious, because I noticed the contractions were coming more frequently than normal. They were coming about 10-12 minutes apart consistently for an hour or two. Definitely not regular, but they were coming.

They continued to come ALL DAY, even while we were out and walking around. When we got home around 4 I started timing them again. They were coming about 7-9 minutes apart. They’re not regular at all (one will be 6 minutes apart and the next won’t come for 8), but they were definitely there and getting stronger. The weird thing about them is that they don’t really hurt. I’m feeling some lower back pain, but no pain in the front when I have a contraction. Later in the evening I was having some cramping, but that’s kind of normal for me.

While we were sitting at Men’s Warehouse I had the weirdest thing happen. I felt Jacob move down low in my abdomen and then I felt a POP. It was like he pushed on something and it really hurt. It felt like my cervix suddenly popped into position from being posterior. At first I thought it was my water breaking (because I’ve heard stories of a POP and then a gush of fluid), but there was absolutely no fluid.

As the day went on I began to feel Jacob settle more into my pelvis. Now it feels like I have a bowling ball between my legs (instead of just in my hips). It actually takes effort to keep my legs close together while I’m walking. The pelvic pressure has increased since the POP too. So I’m pretty sure he must have pushed on something in there and I’m no longer posterior. I don’t know if it’s possible for the cervix to move that quickly, but that’s truly what it felt like!

My Mom and I are wondering if having Mr P home has suddenly relaxed my body enough that labor will start on its own. We will just have to wait and see I suppose!!

I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow and I’m curious to see if anything has changed. We will be scheduling the induction just in case – so by next Monday I’ll be in labor!!!

This morning I got up at 4:45 (instead of 3:30) and just laid in bed for a while and started thinking about what it’s going to be like to have Jacob laying in his bassinet next to me. I was trying to imagine what his cries are going to sound like and what he’s going to look like. It’s all kind of surreal that we are so close. I feel like I’ve been waiting for Mr P to come home and now that he’s home, having Jacob just seems so much more real.

It’s all kind of bitter sweet you know? I’ve been one of the lucky women who has, for the most part, enjoyed being pregnant. Sure I had little aches and pains but nothing crazy. I wasn’t even horribly sick in the first trimester. I haven’t really reached the point where I’m desperate to not be pregnant. Sure – I want to sleep on my stomach, have a glass of champagne and wear jeans with real buttons and zippers, but I’m still pretty content being pregnant. I love the way it feels when Jacob moves inside of me. I love that I always have him to chat with and I love that I’m so close to him. I will never be this close to him again. I’m excited to finally meet him, but a part of me is sad that this is all coming to a close. It’s the weirdest feeling ever.

I’m sure that soon enough he will be here in our arms and I will completely forget all of these odd emotions and I can’t wait for that. I can’t wait to hold our little boy for the first time. I just can’t wait.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

