Day 2 {Your first love}

>Wow. Well, where am I supposed to start with this one. I guess it really depends on what kind of first love we’re talking about here.

If we’re talking about the first guy I ever said ‘I Love You’ to then we’re venturing all the way back to high school. Freshmen year there was a new kid, his name was Steve. We had German class together both freshmen and sophomore year. I remember that his german name was Sven and for a long time when we were just friends that’s what I called him. We started dating because a note that I’d written my best friend managed to find its way into his hands (how typical right?). We were that “perfect” couple. I was a cheerleader, he was a football player. We were even crowned as royalty at the Winter Ball! We actually dated for over a year and for high school kids that’s pretty amazing.

At the time I thought we were going to be together forever. We’d talked about it on numerous occasions (as all high school sweethearts do). Everything just seemed so perfect and over time we started to grow apart. Our dreams and goals changed and we both wanted to try different things. We ended it mutually and it was for the best. It didn’t make it any easier at the time, but looking back I know that we both learned a lot from each other. It was Steve who taught me what it meant to be loved and to give love in return.

Now if we’re talking about the first guy I’ve ever loved with my entire heart and soul then I’m lucky enough to be married to him. I knew pretty quickly after I met him that he was special. Things just felt so right with him and I’d never been more comfortable in my life. We are so much alike. He really is me, just with a Y chromosome. Have you ever heard that song ‘Until You’ by Dave Barnes? If you haven’t look it up and download it. There is a line that goes a little something like this:

“Now this all makes sense, With you as company.
I left all I knew and found a better part of me.”

And honestly, that just describes how things are with Mr P. I am the person that I’d always tried to be. I wasn’t ever able to be that person until I met him. He’s made me so happy and made me so much better in so many ways.

And finally, if we’re talking about the first guy that I ever loved unconditionally and selflessly then we are talking about the little boy that’s currently snoozing (and drooling) on my chest. Yep – this little guy:

I never knew that my heart could be full of so much love (and I know that sounds cliche, but it’s true). I swear my heart’s capacity for love has grown infinitely and is endless. It feels like every morning I wake up and look into his little blue eyes and I love him even MORE than the day before. It truly does amaze me.

I guess in all reality there has been more than one first love for me. Each time I’ve loved it’s been more than the previous and for that I am thankful – because it means that my heart continues to grow and grow and will always be full of endless love, especially with these two to give it to.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

