Day 9 {Your Beliefs}

>To put it simply – I believe in God. I believe that he is a loving and caring God. I believe that he sent Jesus Christ to die on the cross for our sins. I believe that the Holy Spirit is constantly in and around us. I am a Christian.

Now, I’m not the perfect, model Christian and my journey is somewhat different than most peoples.

I was not raised in a Christian home. Both of my parents were raised Catholic (my Mom, very strictly). I didn’t go to church with my Mom more than twice and it wasn’t until I was in high school. She never baptized me because she wanted me to be able to choose myself. She wanted me to understand my choice. I am very thankful that she gave me the choice, honestly.

My first experience in a Catholic church was, interesting, to say the least. I’ve never been more confused in my life!! I was nervous to go back because I had absolutely NO clue what was going on the entire time. If you didn’t grow up in the Catholic church, I’m sure you know what I mean!

When I got to college I really wanted to be involved in a church. I know now that the desire I felt to attend church wasn’t because of me. It was sparked by God, obviously. I got involved at the only Catholic church in town and I took the RCIA classes to get baptized! In April at the Easter Vigil I was baptized, received my first communion and was confirmed. I was 18.

Right before my baptism with my Mom and Dad.

My sophomore year I actually started to grow and learn about God. I actually felt him working in my life and in the lives of others and it was amazing. I started to read the bible on my own and I studied. I loved it. I would attend the Baptist church with friends on Sundays (when I wasn’t working) because I really enjoyed the music (plus the offered free lunch to college kids afterwards… haha).

When I moved to Colorado Springs I stopped going to church. I was busy with work and I hadn’t found anyone who was Christian. For a long time I felt like I needed to go to church WITH someone, so when my friends weren’t Christian I didn’t go. I still read and studied, but not nearly as much.

One day I just decided it was time. So I checked out a few church websites and found one or two that I liked and wanted to try. I was lucky enough that the first church I went to was one that I fell in love with. The music was amazing, I loved the preaching style and it gave me a chance to really worship. Plus – there was a lot going on outside of services on Sunday.

It’s not a Catholic church. I’ve found that most of the Catholic churches are difficult to get involved in if you aren’t under 18 or over 60. There really isn’t a lot that’s meant for 20-somethings and that frustrated me. I wanted to attend bible studies tailored for my age and I couldn’t find it at the Catholic church (at least not in my area).

So my story and my walk with God has really JUST begun. I don’t know all that much, but I know that I believe in God and Jesus Christ and for me that’s enough to get up and go to church. I’ve seen him work in my life and I know that he’s always watching over me. I truly believe that I wouldn’t have made it through (almost) this deployment without my faith. God has given me the two most important things in my life and for me – that’s enough to worship and keep believing.

Photobucket

One response to “Day 9 {Your Beliefs}

  1. >Hey girl I LOVE this post I from Pc,FL and I have been in a southern Baptist church my whole life I know I'm not a perfect example of a christian but I'm trying my husband and I both are trying we leave Friday for Colorado Springs he's in the Army were getting stationed at Fort Carson. Do you know any wonderful churchs in the area?

Leave a Reply

