Day 20 {This Month}

>

Well I’m reaching out for a sunny day. 
‘Cause all these clouds are bringing me down.
If I could just see a glimpse of your smile
The clouds would be gone for a while.
I’m giving in to this loneliness,
Sitting here thinking of you. 
If I could just hear your gentle voice,
This loneliness would be through.
And I believe in the month of October.
‘Cause that’s when my dreams came true.
In that wonderful month of October,
I fell in love with you. 
I fell in love with you.
I’m holding on to the moments we shared.
‘Cause it’s always a while till the next time.
If I could ask God for one simple thing,
I’d ask to be near you for life.
And I believe in the month of October.
‘Cause that’s when my dreams came true.
In that wonderful month of October,
I fell in love with you. 
I fell in love with you.
                                                – “October” by Abandonato

Are those not the most beautiful lyrics you’ve ever heard in your life. The actual song is even more beautiful than they lyrics. Check out a preview here. I first heard Abandonato in college at the Music & Message Festival. They’re a local Colorado band, but I don’t think they’re making music anymore. Up until now I’d never been able to relate this song to anything in my life or really understand the song. I heard it for the first time again in a long time recently and it really kind of hit home and fit my mood. It’s been on repeat on iTunes for a few weeks now (when I’m not listening to Baby Einstein or Disney music).
This month marks the seventh month that Mr. P has been away. I was only 16 weeks pregnant when he left. Wow. Looking back on all of that time, I just can’t believe how it has seemed to have flown by. Maybe not in the moment, but now it seems like it has. I still find it hard to believe that I have survived without Mr. P here for so long. I still cannot believe it is already October and we are getting ready for homecoming. And at the same time, the clouds and overcast weather really makes me a little bit lonely and really make me wish he was home to cuddle up on the couch with me.
October was the month that I met Mr. P, so it’s always been a little bit special for us. We met a week before Halloween and we went out and celebrated Halloween together. I was an angel and he was a golfer. From that point on we were together pretty much every day. At least until this deployment.

With everything going on this year, I still love October! I love that the leaves are changing and the air is crisp. I absolutely love crunching leaves under my shoes (and I’ll go out of my way to do it). There is something magical about sitting outside, swapping tales and enjoying a pumpkin spice latte with a friend. I love being able to put on a sweater and curl up on the couch with a cup of tea. October is my favorite month of the year.

October is Jacob’s second month of life (already, I know). His little personality is already shining through and every day he shows me a new expression or sound. He smiled for the first time when he was 5 1/2 weeks old and my heart grew even more that day. He is holding his head up by himself 95% of the time and only rarely loses control and needs help. I keep seeing little mannerisms of his that are so similar to Mr. P and I – like the way his left eye closes a little bit when he smiles (I do that) and the blank stare he gives me right before he bursts into a smile when I’m being goofy (I swear its the same look Mr. P gives me).
  
Jacob has developed a relationship with a mighty fun octopus on his play gym this month. We creatively named the octopus, Octo. They will play and talk for hours (ok, not hours, but a darn long time) every day. Jacob will smile at him and reach up and swat at the rattle on his tentacle. There is just something about the little face on Octo that Jacob is in love with! He just can’t get enough of those tentacles (and Octo is missing 6 of them…). 

Needless to say, this hasn’t been the most amazing October I’ve ever had, but it’s still been a pretty good month! I’m looking forward to next month even more though!!

Photobucket

One response to “Day 20 {This Month}

  1. >Hi! I'm your newest follower! I found you on Top Baby Blogs. I love finding new blogs and yours is lovely:) You can find me at http://www.bouffeebambini.blogspot.comYour babay is adorableAlso, I have several giveaways all for GORGEOUS handmade baby stuff so check them out of you come by. I'm guessing you would like them:)Nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

