Mastering Mommyhood Monday

>

This post isn’t my typical, humorous post. I actually had a rough week. The week before I’d been so busy and on the go and I felt so amazing. I was mastering getting Jacob out of the house and shopping with him. I’d found my super-mom cape. I was meeting new friends and having coffee and truly enjoying myself. 
Monday morning I just woke up on the wrong side of the bed I guess. I didn’t want to get out of bed (so Jacob and I snuggled until around 11!!!) and I didn’t want to take a shower or go anywhere. So I didn’t. I put off my errands that needed to be done and continued to put them off. All I wanted to do was snuggle up on the couch. And I didn’t go anywhere until Wednesday. I practically had to drag myself out of the house on Wednesday.
It was Wednesday night that I realized everything must have finally caught up with me. I hadn’t had a good meal for a few days. I wasn’t really even eating. I was hardly sleeping. I was only sleeping 2-3 hours a night, even though Jacob was sleeping up to 6 hours at a time. I just couldn’t sleep. I was anxious and had way too much on my mind. In all honesty I’m pretty sure I was dealing with the baby blues that never hit me after he was born. Well it hit me smack in the face and I was not at all prepared for it. I thought I’d already moved past that stage and it really caught me by surprise. 
As soon as I realized what was going on I made myself get up though. I could not handle dealing with PPD while Mr. P is away. I just couldn’t do it. And I’m really glad I did get up and get moving again.
Tips on Mastering Mommyhood:
  • Be prepared for insane mood swings. I’m talking – within minutes. One minute you’ll be perfectly happy and the next you’ll be irritated beyond all belief.
  • Be prepared to be sad at some point or another. Be ready to not want to get up and shower and do anything but lay in bed and cuddle with the little one.
  • Be prepared to cry when things don’t go as planned. 
  • Be prepared to deal with some form of the “baby blues”, even if it’s more than a few weeks after the little one is born.
And when all of this happens and hits you smack dab in the forehead – 
  • Cry for a minute, then, wipe away the tears and get up.
  • Take a shower and put on real clothes (that don’t have baby puke stains on them). Do you hair and throw on some make-up.
  • Get the baby dressed.
  • Get out of the house – even if it’s just a walk to the mailbox.
  • Do something. Anything. 
  • Most importantly – connect with other Moms (even through the internet) and build friendships! You won’t regret it, I promise.

2 responses to “Mastering Mommyhood Monday

  1. >This is SO TRUE! and just wanted I needed to hear this morning.I hope your hubs gets to come home soon!

  2. >Love your blog, new follower!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

