Day 27 {Your Favorite Place}

>My favorite place in the world is the beach house that has been in my Mom’s family for years. It belonged to my great grandmother and grandfather and then was passed to my Nana and Papa (my Mom’s parents) and then to my Auntie Laura, when they passed away. It’s always kind of been like a second home to me. I can’t wait to show Mr. P and Jacob where I spent my summers and all of the places that my cousins and I used to wander during the summers.

Third House from the Left

I spent time almost every single summer of my life at the beach house. I always slept in the pink room (and my Mom and Dad in the blue room). I really enjoyed the tire swing out front until I was too big for it. We’d take part in the Wenaumet Bluffs Field Day (that had been going on since the 60’s or so, I think). The best part was the girls vs. boys watermelon race at the end of the day. They would line the girls up on one raft at the end of the dock and the boys on the other and then throw a greased watermelon into the center. Everyone would jump in and we’d all scramble and fight to get it back to shore and win!

My cousin, Billy, and I used to go out at low tide and dig around for clams for dinner. We used to get spit on by them all the time, even in the eye once. We’d go out to the rafts and spend the days swimming and going down the slide. We had our fair share of jellyfish fights and our fair share of stings from the red and blue ones, too.

I always spent the mornings walking up and down the beach exploring and gathering seashells and sea glass. I always came home with a huge collection of random shells.

At the end of the day we would sit down to dinner with Nana and Papa and after dinner Papa and I would sit out on the porch in the rocking chairs and watch the sun go down over the water. We’d enjoy our frozen snickers bars and talk about all sorts of random things. Most of the time he would tell me his stories.

I truly cherish all of those memories. I haven’t been to the beach house since my grandfather passed away there over 3 years ago. It’s going to be weird to go back there and see how much it’s changed and how different it is without Nana and Papa around.

But at the same time I am oh-so-excited to visit the place that is home to so many of my favorite memories from childhood. There really is no place like the beach house.

One response to “Day 27 {Your Favorite Place}

  1. >I'm so glad I checked my followers! I saw I had a new person and clicked to find you and I love love love your blog. I am a beach girl myself and have recently returned to my little island where I grew up and where my family still lives (while my hubby is deployed). I look forward to reading back through your entries and following you from now on!

Leave a Reply

